Skip navigation

 A little post-Labor Day sparring was just the way to forget the imminent end of summer.  It was a solid turn out and the energy was good and each of us spent a lot of time in the ring – at one point we even had three sets sparring at once(!)  Heather returned after an injury, Sarah was back with Chris and we were all introduced to Kaori, a (125 lb) boxer from Sweet Science, who was a wonderful addition to the group and a really good partner in the ring.

My personal experience was, unfortunately, flavored by a negative attitude about myself, which was definitely a poor influence on my overall performance in the ring.  I know that I do best when I have a few things to focus on and, for whatever reason, I failed to focus myself.  As a result I did not make much progress of feel good about my technique, but regardless of this, I felt a great deal of support from the other women in the group and I know that just being there was good for me.  These frustrating days are definitely useful exercises in discovering where most work needs to be done or what foundational elements are weak.  After we’d all stepped out of the ring for the night, Chris took a minute to go over some footwork with me, and Greg offered sound advice on parrying and slipping, which has been motivation for me to strengthen my basics in the coming week.

For all of you thinking about coming next week, Lisa West (100 lbs Golden Gloves competitor) will return; Kaori says she enjoyed herself and hopes to return as much as her work allows ; Eliana will be back from her business trip (after having experienced a class with Master Toddy in Vegas); Laurie’s fight at Friday Night Fights on the 25th will be imminent; and Alanna and Heather will be getting ready for fights in October.  It should be a great time!

p.s. As we didn’t get much feedback on the experiment of filming our rounds, and it wasn’t clear that anyone loved it we decided to shelve the idea until another time. If you have any thoughts on how it went for you, please let us know.

 

3 Comments

  1. Sylvie,

    Thanks again for putting together another great night of sparring. I actually thought it was great having the video to look back on. Did you guys not tape afterall last week? I thought you did and have been checking up on youtube. Let me know if you do end up putting it up if you have it.
    Thanks,
    Sarah

  2. We weren’t filming this past session, just taking photos. Tons of photos; only a portion of them make it on to Facebook.
    We didn’t film because last time there was almost no feedback from anyone in the group, so it wasn’t clear if anyone was comfortable or happy with it.
    But it’s good to hear that you are positive about it. If you want to be filmed (or if anyone asks) we’re more than happy to film and put it up. I liked looking at it, too and think the “burn after viewing” approach is kinda cool. Keeps it disposable instead of obsessive.

  3. ok sounds good! thx.


Leave a Reply

